About Jean-Baptiste Say Institute

Sections:

    Jean-Baptiste Say Institute & ESCP Business School

    0

    We are a business institute. And yet, we are about more than business.
    We are your solution to master entrepreneurial leadership.
    We are based on experiential pedagogy, incubation and involvement in local ecosystems.

    ESCP Business School was founded in 1819 by, among others, French scholar Jean-Baptiste Say. The School has chosen to teach responsible leadership, open to the world and based on European multiculturalism. Six campuses in Berlin, London, Madrid, Paris, Turin and Warsaw are the stepping-stones that allow students to experience this European approach to management.

    Several generations of entrepreneurs and managers were thus trained in the firm belief that the business world can nurture society in a positive way. This conviction and ESCP’s values – excellence, singularity, creativity and plurality – guide our mission daily, and build its pedagogical vision.

    Every year, ESCP welcomes 6300 students and 5000 managers from 120 different nationalities. Its strength lies in its many business training programmes, both general and specialised (Bachelor, Master, MBA, Executive MBA, PhD and Executive Education), all of which include a multi-campus experience.

    The Jean-Baptiste Say Institute was developed in 2007 by the Entrepreneurship Chair of ESCP Business School. We rely on ESCP’s unique European network and train entrepreneurs and leaders around the world. The institute is named in tribute to the man behind the concept of the entrepreneur, and who, in 1819, founded the first business school in the world.

    Our mission is to facilitate current and future leaders in developing entrepreneurial mindsets and uncertainty competence. We are driving an entrepreneurial revolution for an understanding, training and practice of business and management that is ambitious, sustainable and human-centered.

    ESCP has been a pioneering school in teaching entrepreneurship. For 10 years the Entrepreneurship Chair has been developing an alternative way of teaching and understanding entrepreneurship. Today, backed by its network of European researchers and entrepreneurs, the Jean-Baptiste Say Institute aims to train entrepreneurs and leaders from all over the world in entrepreneurship, and offer them, thanks to the ESCP platform, a unique entrance into Europe’s entrepreneurial ecosystem.

    Professor Sylvain Bureau Head of Jean-Baptiste Say Institute Paris

    Approach & Impact

    0

    Your aspirations and needs are changing. We will change the way you learn.

    We believe that
    Entrepreneurship is

    A mindset where creativity drives innovation

    A method for creating projects in a context of uncertainty and constraints

    An expertise that can be taught and learned

    Entrepreneurs are

    Key players of social change striving for value creation and social prosperity


    Prof Yi Jiang at the Effectuation Conference in Berlin 2019

    The impact-based method

    Follow our impact-based method to unleash your entrepreneurial potential and move from art thinking to business thinking:

    Teaching


    Beyond lectures and case studies – learn from projects you love

    Our courses require you to create real impact (prototypes, events, sales…)

    Knowledge


    Beyond dry theories – confront and challenge cutting-edge research

    Our courses are based on real projects you design

    People


    Beyond pure business profiles – collaborate in multidisciplinary teams

    Our courses involve diversity of backgrounds (coders, designers, artists…)

    Places


    Beyond classrooms – explore our entrepreneurial ecosystems

    Our courses also happen outside the classroom (fablabs, incubators, streets, online…)

    Outcomes


    Beyond standard academic grades – create impact that matters

    Our courses involve action and emotions


    Our impact since 2007

    20,000 people trained (managers, entrepreneurs, Option E students and students of the Master in Entrepreneurial Leadership and Innovation)

    600 start-ups have received guidance over the course of 10 years

    100 projects now make > €100k in revenue

    20 businesses make > €100m in revenue

    30,000+ people attended more than 300 events that were hosted on and off campus

    Team & Locations

    0
    The Jean-Baptiste Say Institute team at the Say Days 2020

    Our cross-campus team is working on teaching programmes, research and different projects.

    Berlin

    René Mauer

    rmauer@escp.eu
    Professor
    European Coordinator of the Say Institute & Academic Director EMDIEL

    Florian Lüdeke-Freund

    fluedeke-freund@escp.eu
    Associate Professor
    Head of Programmes & Academic Director MSEI

    Matthias Mrozewski

    mmrozewski@escp.eu
    Assistant Professor
    Academic Director Option-E Berlin & EXIST BESTPlace

    Christoph Seckler

    cseckler@escp.eu
    Assistant Professor
    Academic Director U-SCHOOL

    Sven Scheid

    sscheid@escp.eu
    Head of MBA, Executive Degree & Entrepreneurship Programmes

    Barbara Lutz

    blutz@escp.eu
    Team Coordinator

    Alison Masse

    amasse@escp.eu
    Programme Manager U-SCHOOL

    Olga Perfilyeva

    operfilyeva@escp.eu
    Project Manager EMDIEL & U-SCHOOL

    Miriam Pirolo

    mpirolo@escp.eu
    Communications & Marketing Manager MBA, Executive MBA, Executive Master Programmes

    Stephan Schmuck

    sschmuck@escp.eu
    Programme Manager MSEI

    Agnieszka Wosek

    awosek@escp.eu
    Project Manager Blue Factory & EXIST

    Sophia Braun

    sbraun@escp.eu
    PhD Student
    Head of Communications

    Tobias Fröse

    tfroese@escp.eu
    PhD Student
    Research Assistant MSEI

    Chloé Ipert

    cipert@escp.eu
    PhD Student
    Programme Manager Option-E Berlin

    Ronja Kirschning

    rkirschning@escp.eu
    PhD Student
    Programme Manager Blue Factory

    Cynthia Klauth

    cklauth@escp.eu
    PhD Student
    Programme Manager Blue Factory

    David Lehmann

    dlehmann@escp.eu
    PhD Student
    Lecturer

    Sönke Mestwerdt

    smestwerdt@escp.eu
    PhD Student
    Programme Manager Blue Factory

    Maximilian Tigges

    mtigges@escp.eu
    PhD Student
    Programme Manager Berlin InnoBridge

    Peter Borchers

    pborchers@escp.eu
    Affiliate Professor
    Academic Director U-SCHOOL

    Jack Fuchs

    jfuchs@escp.eu
    Affiliate Professor

    Gunnar Graef

    ggraef@escp.eu
    Affiliate Professor

    Julie Guth

    jguth@escp.eu
    Affiliate Professor

    Marc Sasserath

    msasserath@escp.eu
    Affiliate Professor

    Jörg Reckhenrich

    joerg@reckhenrich.com
    Art Expert
    Artist in Residence

    Simon Nieschke

    snieschke@escp.eu
    PhD Student

    Lisa Steigertahl

    lsteigertahl@escp.eu
    PhD student

    London

    Davide Sola

    dsola@escp.eu
    Professor
    London Coordinator of the Say Institute & Academic Director Option-E London

    Terence Tse

    ttse@escp.eu
    Professor

    Ben Voyer

    bvoyer@escp.eu
    Professor

    Christian Linder

    chlinder@escp.eu
    Associate Professor

    Luisa Barile

    Expert

    Katie Jagielnicka

    Expert

    Akin Kaan

    Expert

    Pierre Bouchet

    Expert

    Marco Roncaglio

    Expert

    Madrid

    Lola Herrero

    lherrero@escp.eu
    Associate Professor
    Madrid Coordinator of the Say Institute & Academic Director Option-E Madrid

    Niko Muñoz

    nmunoz@escp.eu
    Senior Teaching Fellow
    Executive Director Option-E Madrid

    Natalia Andia

    nandia@escp.eu
    Programme Manager Option-E Madrid

    Paris

    Sylvain Bureau

    sbureau@escp.eu
    Professor
    Paris Coordinator of the Say Institute

    Martin Kupp

    mkupp@escp.eu
    Associate Professor
    Head of Executive Education & Academic Director Option-E Paris

    Yi Jiang

    yjiang@escp.eu
    Associate Professor
    Head of Research

    Robert Sheldon

    rsheldon@escp.eu
    Associate Professor
    Head of Teaching and Learning

    Eric Pesnel

    pesnel@escp.eu
    Associate Professor
    Academic Director MSIE

    Maëva Tordo

    mtordo@escp.eu
    Head of Incubation and Blue Factory Paris

    Eilis Neary

    eneary@escp.eu
    Programme Manager Option-E Paris

    Louis-Davide Benyayer

    ld.benyayer@withoutmodel.com
    Affiliate Professor

    Amaury de Buchet

    adebuchet@escp.eu
    Affiliate Professor

    Marc Fournier

    marc@serena.vc
    Affiliate Professor
    Academic Director MSIE

    Gunnar Graef

    ggraef@escp.eu
    Affiliate Professor

    Laure Helfgott

    laure.helfgott@gmail.com
    Affiliate Professor

    Xavier Lorphelin

    xlorphelin@serena.vc
    Affiliate Professor

    Romain Buquet

    buquet.romain@gmail.com
    Lecturer

    Saniya Al Saadi

    saniya.alsaadi@gmail.com
    UX Design Expert

    Christophe Bruno

    christophe.bruno@gmail.com
    Digital Art Expert

    Margaux Derhy

    margauxderhy@gmail.com
    Art Expert

    Sophie Kammerer-Farrant

    sophie.kammerer@louvre.fr
    Art Expert

    Emile Kirsch

    info@emilekirsch.com
    Art & Design Expert

    Alexandre Poisson

    alexandre@escabo.fr
    Art & Design Expert

    Pierre Tectin

    piertec@hotmail.com
    Art Expert
    Artist in Residence

    Corine Waroquiers

    corine@storymakers.eu
    Pitching Expert

    Olivier Beaunay

    olivier.beaunay@edu.escp.eu
    PhD Student

    Sara Biglieri

    sara.biglieri@edu.escp.eu
    PhD Student

    Maxime Massey

    maxime.massey@edu.escpeurope.eu
    PhD Student

    Turin

    Alisa Sydow

    asydow@escp.eu
    Assistant Professor
    Turin Coordinator of the Say Institute & Academic Director Option-E Turin

    Honorary Members and Alumni

    Jacqueline Fendt

    jfendt@escp.eu
    Emerita Professor

    Noreen O’Shea

    noshea@escp.eu
    Emerita Professor

    Moyra Marval

    moyra.marval@edu.escp.eu
    Graduated PhD

    Miona Milosevic

    miona.milosevic@edu.escp.eu
    Graduated PhD

    Sebastian Szambelan

    sebastian.szambelan@gmail.com
    Graduated PhD

    Somayeh Taghvaee

    somayeh.taghvaee78@gmail.com
    Postdoc

    Projects & Working Groups

    0

    We engage in projects with different stakeholders.

    EXIST-Potentiale

    Prof Matthias Mrozewski represented the Jean-Baptiste Say Institute at the BMWi.

    EXIST-Potentiale is a Germany-wide funding measure by the BMWi, the German federal ministry for economic affairs and energy, and the European Social Fund. Its aim is to implement a start-up culture in universities and to create the necessary framework to support innovative and high-growth science start-ups. ESCP will set up an internationalization school, which is offers general as well as country-specific courses and workshops, international team matching events and alumni angel nights. We will support founders directly by providing them with a coworking and office spaces, consulting and hosting country-specific ecosystem events. Moreover, we will create an internationalization network with other leading universities for startups. The aim is to expand the entrepreneurship potential of ESCP and develop incubation activities to support start-ups in their internationalization efforts.

    Learn More


    Center for DS:E

    Part of the Jean-Baptiste Say Institute team from Berlin and other researchers have started the Center for Design Science in Entrepreneurship (DS:E). They believe that design science enables entrepreneurship scholars to combine cutting-edge research with real world impact. They motivate entrepreneurship scholars to engage in design science research in three ways: First, the Center brings together the world’s leading design science experts from different fields to further develop the design science research paradigm for the entrepreneurship field. Second, it educates entrepreneurship scholars in doing design science research that can be published in the best journals. Third, it serves as a platform to match firms’ entrepreneurial challenges with scholars who design solutions based on the best scientific knowledge available. The DS:E holds a conference on design science research in entrepreneurship once a year, offers courses both offline as well as online, and develops a platform to match firms’ entrepreneurial challenges with top nodge scholars.

    Learn More

    LatAm

    Our team in Madrid is engaged in international cooperation for development projects and consultancy missions in Latin America funded by public and private institutions. Current missions include the following:

    “Especialización en Gestión de Iniciativas Económicas Colaborativas y Economía Social en Centroamérica (Proyecto INICIA)”, funded by EU ERASMUS Plus (2019-2021)

    Learn more

    “IRUDESCA. Integración Regional, Universidad y Desarrollo Sostenible en Centroamérica”, funded by EU ERASMUS Plus (2017-2019)

    Learn more

    “Monitoring and impact system of destination sustainability projects (SSIP-RIU)” with RIU Hotels & Resorts in Cancún, Mexico (2019-2020)

    Sponsors & Partners

    0

    We work with a variety of partners and thank all of them for their support!

    Key sponsors


    Education partners


    Corporate partners


    Start-up partners

    Call for sponsors

    Work with us as sponsor or partner!

    1. Join the European academic reference for entrepreneurship.
    2. Hire entrepreneurial talents.
    3. Co-create visible expertise in entrepreneurship.
    4. Reinforce your brand awareness in terms of entrepreneurship.
    5. Develop your business with fast-growth companies and promising entrepreneurs.

    Would you like to know more?
    Get in touch

    Sylvain Bureau
    Paris Coordinator of the Say Institute

    Jobs & Visiting Researchers

    0

    Current vacancies at the Jean-Baptiste Say Institute:

    Jobs

    Paris: Chargé(e) de l’entrepreneuriat étudiant (H/F) (Blue Factory)

    Call for visiting researchers

    Berlin: Junior researchers of entrepreneurship